Christians World of Awesome


My Poison Tree
June 27, 2010, 7:56 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized


A song that has recently led me to understand more fully what Grace is.

LISTEN HERE. Pass it around… this truth needs to be heard.

This tree bears strange fruit

There’s blood on the leaves, it’s dead at the roots
The cracked grey branches are decaying within
Just like the black poison that hangs from it’s limbs

Come and dig me up, reach down to the roots
Rip the deadness out, and plant something completely new

I am alive, I will abide
In the life giving blood of christ
I’m grafted in, You’ve killed my sin
Now I can live, I’ll live in Him

I tried to tie fresh fruit
To a tree that had poison all the way through
It rotted and fell off, it was dead to the core
It even killed the ground, I was worse than before

You can’t tie fresh fruit
To a tree that has poison all the way through
It will rot and will fall off and soon it will die
It will even kill the ground, It’s a matter of time

There is not much else I can do but weep when I hear this song. The truth that is displayed rushes through my body, convicts me of sin and leads me to repentance. How often do I elevate “spiritual exercises” as instruments of righteousness and Godliness? I act like these “good works” will heal this rotting tree… I assume that if I pray more, read more, sit in my church cubicle more… I will change. I tie this “fruit” to a dead tree and it holds for a season, but undoubtedly… like it has hundred times before, this fruit will rot away because it lacks roots. I will continue to live as a poisonous tree… unless I beg to be dug up.

For no good tree bears bad fruit, nor again does a bad tree bear good fruit, for each tree is known by its own fruit. (Luke 6:43)

This poison consumes me. Yet, the cross has covered that blackness. All my foolish attempts to glue fruit to a bad tree are redeemed through His blood shed. And I ask… as I die daily… that I might be dug up, that new roots might be planted within me.

**Big up’s to my man Cam Huxford who wrote this song. His anointing is evident and it’s an honor to worship with him.** (Download the song HERE)

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Soooooo good. This has been on my heart for a while…thank you for putting words to my thoughts. Good stuff christian…I miss your words..and your face but so glad to see you processing through stuff like this. Incredible.

Comment by Amy

I’m currently begging God to dig me up and plant me in a place where I won’t be trampled, taken advantage of, and disregarded.

For me, the song speaks freedom from the misery some of us often face with the church. Sometimes, you can bear good fruit but can’t survive because the poison seeping in isn’t being produced from your own roots but rather in the trees planted around you. water doesn’t taste the same because you can tell it isn’t pure and you soon realize even it is tainted. And in a instant you’re ripped up from the ground and tossed aside, not because the fruit you bear is bad but because your fruit challenges the fruit around you.

God does answer this though.. 1 Peter 5:10

“And after you have suffered a little while, the God of all grace, who has called you to his eternal glory in Christ, will himself restore, confirm, strengthen, and establish you.”

The question is, how long will it take? A lifetime?

The key to those you bear bad fruit is repentance… If we choose not to repent, we choose not to experience true love.

Good word brother.

Comment by Juan

Wow, so powerful. Thank you for that.

Comment by Amy Grace




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

